Ponte Vecchio, Florence (Firenze)

Nirvaan Shivlani
2 min readApr 30, 2020

--

Among the four old bridges that span the river, the Ponte Vecchio, that bridge which is covered with the shops of jewelers and goldsmiths, is a most enchanting feature in the scene. The space of one house, in the center, being left open, the view beyond, is shown as in a frame; and that precious glimpse of sky, and water, and rich buildings, shining so quietly among the huddled roofs and gables on the bridge, is exquisite

Charles Dickens

Florence was, in one word, phenomenal. I’d like to think that’s what inspired so many artists here into the Rennaissance. Everyone I met before this trip spoke about Italy as if everyone in the country was going to try and mug me, but once you’re there, you realise that you’re in the presence of one of the most vibrant cultures in world history, in one of the few cities that have the perfect blend of ancient Western European culture and modern art. They’ve also blessed us with pizzas and gelato so I guess we should be grateful. This is the unedited version of this picture and it looks like something picked right out of a painting. My only regret is not telling anyone I met there “arrivederci,” even though I googled the pronunciation on the train to Firenze.

Now, this picture here has been taken from the Ponte Vecchio, built over the Arno river in Roman times. I remember walking the length of the bridge among the hustle and bustle of the various craft shops and tourists, only to stop because I was mesmerized by this particular scene, with the rustic architectural beauty of Florence, the perfectly placed silhouette of those clouds there, and the Arno river. The bridge has been destroyed and rebuilt a few times since then but it first appeared in a Roman document from 996, truly encapsulating the historical significance of Firenze.

In the end, Florence is its own unique creation — a beautiful Rennaissance town that is still known for its fashion, art, and craftsmanship.

--

--

Nirvaan Shivlani

Hi, I'm Nirvaan, writer in the advertising industry. Out here, I write about travelling, advertising and all of the random thoughts in my head!